Predictions, odds and more for this year’s race

Team Penske driver Josef Newgarden (2) signs an autograph Monday, May 20, 2024, during practice for the 108th running of the Indianapolis 500 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

The IndyCar series returns to the Brickyard this weekend as fans prepare for the 108th annual Indianapolis 500. Josef Newgarden looks to stay the reigning champion after securing his first Indy 500 win in 2023. Unfortunately for Newgarden, it’s been over 20 years since the Indy 500 has seen a back-to-back champion. The last person to do so was Helio Castroneves in 2001 and 2002.

Of course, a few people have come close since. Most notably, Dario Franchitti, who won three races in six years between 2007 and 2012 but never won any in consecutive years. Newgarden has a long road ahead of him if he wants to break the streak. Not only has Newgarden not won a single race thus far in the 2024 IndyCar season, he’s recorded only one top-five finish. In fact, he hasn’t finished top-15 in either of his last two races.

Related Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *